UEFA European Championship: EURO 2024 FAQs and information

How often are the UEFA European Championships?

UEFA EURO - the second most watched football tournament in the world, behind only the FIFA World Cup - is held every four years. Qualifiers take place in a group format, commencing in the autumn preceding the FIFA World Cup.

Has England ever won the Euros?

England has never won the European Championship. The national team first qualified for the tournament in 1968, with 2021 being their tenth appearance. England's best performance to date was in the 2020 competition, finishing in second as the runners up.

Which teams are playing in the UEFA EURO 2024?

Successfully gaining a place through the European Qualifiers, 24 teams are participating in EURO 2024 - Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania Group C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England Group D: Poland, Netherlands, Austria, France Group E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Ukraine Group F: Türkiye, Georgia, Portugal, Czechia

Who is the top scorer in the EURO of all time?

The top goal scorer, which includes goals and qualifying, is Cristiano Ronaldo (playing for Portugal) with an impressive 45 goals. He also has the most final tournament goals, with 14. In a single final tournament, for France in 1984, Michel Platini scored the most goals, with nine.

History of the UEFA European Football Championships

EURO 2020 celebrated the 60th anniversary of the UEFA tournament and now this year sees the 2024 EUROs commence. Starting in 1960, won by the Soviet Union in France, the championship has grown from 17 teams playing to qualify to 24.
From 1960 – 1996, winners included West Germany twice, Czechoslovakia, Spain, Italy and France.

Who won EURO 1996?

Germany became victorious in the EURO 1996 final, with a final score of 2-1 against the Czech Republic.

Who won EURO 2000?

In the final of UEFA EURO 2000, held at the Feijenoord Stadium in Rotterdam, France triumphed against Italy.

Who won EURO 2004?

Greece won EURO 2004 after beating hosts Portugal 1-0 in Lisbon.

Who won EURO 2008?

In Vienna 2008 at the UEFA EURO final, Spain ended the tournament victorious over Germany, in a 1-0 defeat.

Who won EURO 2012?

At the Olimpiyskiy in Kyiv, Spain defeated Italy 4-0 in the EURO 2012 final.

Who won EURO 2016?

Portugal won EURO 2016 in France, beating the hosts 1-0 at the Stade de France.

Who won EURO 2020?

Italy won the EURO 2020, battling it out against England. Italy won on penalties, securing the victory.

EURO 2024 Stadiums

The UEFA EURO 2024 tournament will be hosted by Germany and the EUROs will take place across 10 famous stadiums, making for an exciting tournament this year. The stadiums that will be hosting matches include: Olympiastadion Berlin, Cologne Stadium, BVB Stadion Dortmund, Düsseldorf Arena, Frankfurt Arena, Arena AufSchalke, Volksparkstadion Hamburg, Leipzig Stadium, Munich Football Arena and Stuttgart Arena. Olympiastadion Berlin is the largest stadium of the group, with a capacity of 71,000 - the other stadiums vary in size but are all perfect to host the ‘24 EUROs. The last EUROs (2020) were hosted in several different cities, including: Amsterdam, Baku, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Glasgow, London, Munich, Rome, Saint Petersburg and Seville. The last UEFA EURO, in 2020, saw Italy win at Wembley Stadium, after battling against England.